Underwater Day

5/30/17


One of these days, someone will invent a procedure to repair eyesights that extend to people like me. Since young, vision has been my biggest foe (well, along with lack of physical fitness, lack of self esteem, poor social skill…wait, why am I discussing this?!). I tried to avoid all water sports, ball sports, people sports; any sport that could damage my spectacles became forbidden. Glasses are expensive, and it takes time to be replaced. It was not until much later in left when I could afford spare glasses that I began to explore more sports.

I woke up feeling slightly worse than before, which was unexpected and a little frustrating. I finally have a week off work and traveled to a new country, only to be stymied by flu. Deciding to enjoy the time and experience more, I signed up for a snorkeling tour. It promised to bring me to some of the best beaches in Mexico, especially to Punta Sur. As normal, the pick up was late by 30 mins. I went onto a small boat with quite a few othe tourists, eager to experiment the Caribbean water. We would be doing 3 separate places, each deeper than the one before. I was pretty apprehensive of snorkeling in open water, since I can neither see well, nor swim well. Thankfully, I had an interesting surprise: most of the others on the trip were not experienced in snorkeling too. I ended up being pretty middle of the pack, managing to finish all 3 areas. At the end of the trip,23 were brought to an area with turquoise water over white sand, shallower enough to stand on. The soft sand, mesmerizing water and blue sky formed an unforgettable scenery (that I failed to capture in photo since I had no water proof equipment).

Unfortunately, the day of having sea water up in my nostril and my throats also meant my congestion got a lot worse. As I lay in bed trying to breathe, i could not help but appreciate what a spare pair of glasses can do. I am now able to do more, experience more and feel more (and breathe less) because I am can afford to lose a pair of glasses. It is a small thing to many, but a lifeline to me. So next time, when someone mention they need something small and insignificant to you, remember it could mean a world of difference to them. 

Leave a comment